S is for Sleepless

‘Happy Halloween’ (19 October 2011), image courtesy of Richard Elzey on Flickr.com at https://flic.kr/p/axnbV4.

With a jump in the bed

I wake in the dark

Check the time on the clock

And that’s when it starts

The memories, rushing in

That night, two years ago

A car that crashed

Left her on the road

It happened so fast

Water slicked the ground

They couldn’t see her bike

They didn’t slow down

I grab the radio, turn it on

Drown out that night, that sight

But it doesn’t stop

The images turning in my mind

The hours will pass

I’ll lie awake and drifting

In and out of that nightmare

The sleepless, the dead, the living.

I must be in one of my morbid moods! As a bicycle rider myself, the thought of being hit by a car (or seeing someone be hit) is frightening. Two people I know have recently had this experience, so it is close to home. 

Leave a comment